Yoga Teacher Training Courses, Reiki Healing & courses, Meditation classes
Hindi speaking and Bhajan / Kirtan Singer - A house of complete spiritual learning..

The word ‘Yog’ has been used in Vedas, Upanishads, Gita and mythological scriptures etc. since times. It is a very important term in the Indian context, be it in devotion, self-realization or in the day-to-day work arena, Yog deals extensively with every aspect of our life according to these classics.

Maharshi patanjali define ‘Yog’ as ‘Chittavritti Nirodh’ (eradication of negative moods) Praman (Fact), Viparay (Transposition), Vikalp (Alternate Option), Nidra (Sleep) and Smriti (Memory) are the five moods. With the practice of Yog with dedication and devotion one eliminates these negative moods and the mind finds solace in merging with the soul – This is Yog.Maharshi Vyas describes Yog as Samadhi. The Sanskrit grammar shows that Yog is derived from the root ‘Yuj’. In short we can say that the controlled practices which result in the meeting of Atma and Param-atma (Soul and the supreme soul) is Yog.

The Sages believe that sole purpose of Yog is to merge with Supreme Soul. When one eradicates all negative emotions by following yog, the detachment to momentary emotions and moods follows and control of one’s life is achieved. The mind has five phases Kshipta. Mudha, Vikshipta, Ekagra and Nirudha. The first three phases are not capable of reaching the high state of Samadhi. The fourth and fifth phase of mind enables one to reach a state, wherein one loses the bondage of Karma and one can attain Sampradyat Samadhi and Asampradnyat Samadhi.

When Samadhi is obtained with the help of an object or idea (that is, by fixing one’s thought on a point in space or on an idea), the stasis is called samprajnata Samadhi (‘enstasis with support,’ or ‘differentiated enstasis’). When, one the other hand, Samadhi is obtained apart from any ‘relation’ (whether external or mental) that is when one obtains a ‘conjunction’ into which no otherness’ enters, but which is simply a full comprehension of being one has realized asamprajnata-samadhi (‘undifferentiated stasis’).

Indian Literature has a unique place of honour for ‘The Bhagvadgita’. Contemporary saints of India have spread the message of Karmyog from Gita to theentire world.

Types of Yog :

The four types of Yog stated below have been described in the classic of ‘Dattatreya Yoga- Sutra’ and ‘Yog-raj Upanishad’. The characteristics of each type of Yog have been thus described in the elementary ‘Yog Tattvopanishad’.

  • Mantra Yog comprises of the chanting of the Matrukadi Mantra systematically over 12 years, which gives you ‘Anima’, it is Minutenes (This is the power which the yogi possesses to become as an atom, to identify himself with the smallest part of the universe, knowing the self in that atom to be one with himself. This is due to the fact that the anima mundi, or soul of the world, is universally spread throughout all spects of divine life) and other spiritual pwers.
  • Laya Yog is constantly remembering God all the time, while performing daily activities.
  • Hatha Yog comprise the practices of various asana’s, mudras, pranayama and Kriyas for the purification of the body and concentration of the mind.
  • Raja Yog comprises the observane of Yama (self-restraint, Niyama (scriptural prescription) etc which help to purify the mind, intellect and thereby elighten the soul(The meaning of the word ‘raja’ in Raja Yog, is ‘to illuminate’ or ‘to brighten’ (‘rajru diptou’) and meaning of ‘Yoga’ is Samadhi or trandental meditation. The Gita embodies the detailed analysis of Dhyana Yaga Sankhya Yog and karma Yog. In the 5th chapter of ‘The Bhagvadguta’ Karmyog, is conscribing the Ashtang Yog in the Yog-Sutra. When one looks into the classics of Yog to know the secrets, one arrives at the conclusion that methods and processes which are used for attaining spirituality and devotion may be categorized as Yog.

Effects of Yog on the Body

Yog gives an insight to know more about the self. The dormant inner powers blossom to give complete bliss and an introduction to the true self. It enables one to meet the supreme soul and attain complete bliss. Indian sages have prescribed many methods to achieve this goal. W e will mainly follow the asana’s and Pranayama’s given in Ashtang yog (Yam, Niyam, Asan, Pranayam, Pratyahar, Dharana, Dhyan and samadhi) or the eight main aspects of Yog. We will also the six supporting actions or shatkarma’s or Hath yog.

Practicing Yog revives our dormant energy. These exercises rejuvenate tissues and help new cell formation. Light Yogic exercises reactivate the nervous system, and regulate the blood circulation. They reinstate fresh energy in the body. According to the laws of physiology, when the body contracts and expands, energy is developed and diseases get cured. This can be achieved with the help of different Yogic asanas. With the practice of pranayamas and asanas, the glands and muscles of the body contract and expand, and diseases get cured naturally.

Yog also keeps the veins healthy. The pancreas become active and produces insulin in the right quantity, which helps in curing diabetes and related diseases. Health is directly linked with the digestive system. The improper functioning of the digestive system is the prime cause for most of the diseases. Even some serious problems like heart disease occur due to a faulty digestive system. Yog strengthens the entire digestion process, making every part of the body healthy, and active. Fresh air enters the lungs making them healthier which keeps diseases like asthma, respiratory problems, allergy etc away Fresh air also strengthens the heart. Yogic exercises dissolve the fat deposits which make the body light, healthy and attractive. Yog is beneficial for thin and lean physique as well.

Along with physical fitness, Yog also affects the subtle senses, the intellect and the mind. Yog controls the working of organs and helps the mind to detach itself. The follower of Ashtang Yog passes with great ease from the darkness the supreme soul. ‘Tada Drashtuh Swaroope, Vsthanam’. Thus we can embark ont eh pathe of Yog and experience the inner happiness of connecting with the Supreme Being and attain physical, mental, intellectual and spiritual progress.

Daily routine of a healthy person

Good health is the key to happiness. Health is wealth. But who is healthy? Sage Sushruta writes in the Ayurveda text ‘Sushrut Samhita’:

“ Samdoshah Samagnishch Samdhatu Malkriyah
Prasnnatmendriymanah Swasth itymidhiyale ”

This means, for a person who has all the three doshas – Vat, Pitta and Kapha in equilibrium, the agni(power of digestion) of the stomach is normal (neither very high). The seven substances or dhatus in body, Rasa (blood) Masa (tissues), Med (Fat), Asthi (bones), the ten senses (ears, nose, eyes, skin, taste, rectum, genital organs, hands, legs and tongue),the mind and their ruler i.e. the soul remain happy. Such a person is said to be healthy. Sage Sushrut has given a broad and scientific definition to the word health. Said to be healthy. Sage Sushrut has given a broad and scientific definition to the word health. Maharshi Charak has stated that the three pillars to attain this health are diet, sleep and celibacy.

“ Trayopstambha Aharnidrabramacharyamiti ”

(Charaksanhita-Su 11.34)

These are the three pillars on which the whole body rests.
Yogeshwar shri Krishna says in Giga:

“ Yuktaharviharasya Yuktacheshtasya Karmasu
Yuktaswapnavhodhsya Yoga bhawati dukha ”

(The Bhagavadgita 6:17)

One whose diet, thoughts and behavior are balanced and controlled and whose deeds have divinity, who has a pious mind desires auspicious things, whose sleep and awakening is regular, he is the true Yogi.

©2010 Om Yoga Centre, Mcleodganj, Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh, India
Developed & Hosted at :

Visitors :